Alameda County Commission on the Status of Women

Wednesday, May 31, 2023 5:30pm - 6:30pm



Special Meeting Agenda



The mission of the Alameda County Commission on the Status of Women (COSW) is to represent the women of Alameda County in maximizing

social equality and parity for women of all ages in such areas as housing, employment, health services, child care, elder care, education, transportation, credit, legal rights, and community services.

MEETING LOCATION	COMMISSION MEMBERS		
To Participate:	Nina Senn, Chair	Conference of Mayors	
Option 1: In person (required of all Commissioners) Gail Steele Multi Service Center in Hayward, 3 rd Floor, Room: Lupine A #331 Option 2: On Zoom Please use the link below: To participate in meetings of the Commission on the Status of Women: Regular meeting: https://us06web.zoom.us/j/83502223 978 Meeting ID: 835 0222 3978	Aliza Kazmi, Vice Chair	District 2	
	Aida Sizova, Secretary	District 3	
	Megan Sweet, Treasurer	District 3	
	Yasi Safinya-Davies, Member at Large	District 1	
	Shanta Franco-Clausen, Member at Large	District 2	
	Orly Amey	District 1	
For accommodations, please contact staff Tamara Lawrence at least 72 business hours in advance at (510) 267-9448 or tamara.lawrence@acgov.org	Vacant	District 2	
	Marie Gilmore	District 3	
	Courtney Welch	District 5	
	Erin Scott	District 5	
	Kathryn Lybarger	District 5	
	Vacant	Human Relations Commission	
	Vacant	District 1	
	Vacant	District 4	

Alameda County Commission on the Status of Women

Wednesday, May 31, 2023 5:30pm - 6:30pm

	Vacant	District 4
	Vacant	District 4

Website: <a href="https://www.accommunication-accommunicatio-accommunicatio-accommunicatio-accommunicatio-acco

NOTICE FOR PUBLIC COMMENT DURING REMOTE MEETING

The Commission on the Status of Women welcomes you. Public comment is permitted after each item on the agenda and during open public comment for items not on the agenda. If you wish to speak:

• <u>Instructions</u> on joining a meeting by video conference are available at <u>https://support.zoom.us/hc/en</u> <u>us/articles/201362193-Joining-a-meeting</u>

• If using a laptop: use the *raise your hand* button. When you are called to speak, please unmute your speaker. • If calling in: dial *9 to raise your hand to speak. When you are called to speak, the host will unmute you to enable you to speak. If you decide not to speak, you may hang up and dial back into the meeting or simply notify the host you do not wish to speak when you are unmuted and asked to speak. When addressing the Commission, please give your name for the record before your presentation. If you wish to speak on a matter not on the agenda, please wait until the Chair calls for public input at the end of the Regular Calendar. NOTE: Only matters within the Commission's jurisdiction may be addressed. Time limitations shall be at the discretion of the Chair.

ltem No.	Topics	Presenters	Objective and Time
1.	Call to Order, Welcome, and Introductions:	Chair Senn	Information (5:30 PM)
2.	Updates from Policy and Advocacy Subcommittee and Vote on Priority State Legislative Bills (for which we are requesting Board approval to offer COSW support)	Commissioner Kazmi, Policy and Advocacy Subcommittee	Information/Acti on (5:40 PM)
3.	Public Comment	Commissioners	(6:20 PM)
4.	Adjournment	Commissioners	(6:30 PM)

Alameda County Commission on the Status of Women

Wednesday, May 31, 2023 5:30pm - 6:30pm

NEXT COSW MEETING(S)

- Regular Meeting Wednesday, June 14, 2023, 6:30-8:30
- Policy Subcommittee Wednesday, June 14, 5:30-6:15

COSW COMMITTEES (*ex officio)

Bylaws Adhoc Committee:

Committee Chair Gilmore Commissioner Franco-Clausen Commissioner Scott Commissioner Senn*

COSW Presentation Adhoc Committee:

Committee Chair Amey Commissioner Senn*

Communications Committee:

Committee Chair Sizova Commissioner Amey Commissioner Franco-Clausen Commissioner Senn*

Policy and Advocacy Committee:

Committee Chair Kazmi Commissioner Scott Commissioner Senn* Commissioner Sweet

Grant Implementation Committee:

Committee Chair Safinya-Davies Commissioner Amey Commissioner Senn* Commissioner Sizova

Nomination Committee:

Committee Chair Sweet Commissioner Amey Commissioner Lybarger Commissioner Senn*